NFL Hall of Fame 2022: Who will be inducted into the Canton Hall of Fame this Saturday?


TI have las vegas raiders as well as jacksonville jaguars officially kick off the 2022 NFL preseason with the traditional 2022 Hall of Fame game taking place this afternoon at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton, Ohio, near the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The black and gold team has been selected for the game as two of its former players will be named this Saturday: senior wide receiver Cliff Branch and linebacker Richard Seymourand for the Jaguars, the former tackle Tony Bosellithe first player selected by the Jaguars for induction into the Hall of Fame will be inducted.

Also appearing: Leroy Butler, Sam Mills and Bryant Young; along with coach Dick Vermeil and author Art McNally.

This will be the Raiders’ fourth appearance in this game, kicking off pre-season activity. While the Jaguars appear for the second time. The first one was when they played Carolina Panthers in an extended franchise game before the 1995 season.

game notes Josh McDaniels debut with the Raiders following the controversial exit of John Gruden in 2021. McDaniels is from Canton and played prep football at Fawcett Stadium, where the traditional game was played prior to the construction of Tom Benson Stadium. It will also mark Doug Pederson’s debut as a Jaguars coach.

Who will be inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame at the 2022 ceremony?

Cliff Branch (1972–1985).

Branch, now deceased, was a four-time Pro Bowl member and a three-time member of the league’s All Pro team. He was one of the most dynamic receivers of his era. From 1972 to 1985, he played 14 seasons in which he had 501 receptions for 8,685 yards and 67 touchdowns. I won three titles with the Raiders.

Branch, 71, was selected by the Raiders in the fourth round of the 1972 NFL Draft. I survived the franchise’s first city change from Oakland to Los Angeles. He led the NFL in total receiving yards in 1974 (1,092).

Richard Seymour (2001-2012)

Seymour was called up to the Pro Bowl seven times and made the All-Pro team twice. I spent his last four NFL seasons with the Raiders after eight seasons with the New England Patriots.

A key member of the defensive unit who helped the Patriots win six division titles in seven seasons. Led the sack team in 2002 and 2008. In addition, during his time with the Patriots and Raiders, he hit 57.5 catches, and in games where he hit at least one sack, he had a 46-8 record.

He has three Super Bowl rings with the Patriots (XXXVI, XXXVIII and XXXIX) and was on the All-Pro First Team from 2003 to 2005. He was a seven-time pro bowler and a member of the 2000s All-Decade team.

Tony Boselli (1995-2001)

Boselli is the first player selected by the Jaguars to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. In fact, he was the first collegiate pick in franchise history, selected second overall in 1995 after the Cincinnati Bengals drafted running back Ki-Yanu Carter. Boselli was a five-time Pro Bowl team member and a three-time All Pro. He was also named to the 1990s All Decade Team.

He quickly became the face of the young franchise. He was named the All-Rookie and featured excellent foot speed and agility. He retired in 2002 after a serious shoulder injury ended his career.

Leroy Butler (1990–2001)

One of the highest scoring defensemen in Packers history, considered one of the best in his position during the 1990s. He led his team in steals in five different seasons and was instrumental in Green Bay making the playoffs seven times in nine seasons, culminating in Super Bowl XXXI.

During his career, he was a four-time All-Pro first team player, a six-time pro bowler, and a member of the 1990 NFL All-Decade Team. I ended his career with 38 INTs, 15 passes defended, 13 forced fumbles, 20.5 sacks and 889 tackles.

Sam Mills (1986–1997)

After graduating in 1981, he entered the NFL five years later with the Saints, where he played until 1994. During this period, he was a professional bowler 4 times, 2 times All-Pro and in 133 games with the team he scored 4 INTs, 16 forced. fumbles, 17 recoveries and 934 tackles.

In 1995, he moved to the Panthers, where he was the cult leader of their defense, recording 7 more interceptions, 6 forced fumbles, 6 recoveries and 331 tackles. In 1996, he was named First Team All-Pro.

Bryant Young (1994-2007)

Played his entire 14-season career with the 49ers. I ended his career with 89.5 sacks in 208 games played, all as a starter. In 1999, he was named Comeback Player of the Year after finishing the campaign with 42 tackles, 20 quarterback tackles and leading the team with 11 sacks, 15 loss tackles and 1 safety. He was a member of the team that was crowned Super Bowl XXIX, a 4-time All-Pro and a Pro Bowler and is also a member of the San Francisco Hall of Fame.

Art McNally co-creator (1959–2015)

McNally, 97, will be the first judge inducted into the Hall of Fame. He began his career in 1959 with nine seasons as an official. He later served as an administrator until 2015. From 1968 to 1990 he was Chief of Officials. In fact, he is known as the “Father of Instant Replay” for his contributions to instant replay rules in 1986.

Since 2002, the Art McNally Award has been given to an official who demonstrates leadership and commitment to sportsmanship on and off the field.

Dick Vermeil (1976–2005)

In the coaching category, Vermeil led the Eagles in 1976 and led them to their first Super Bowl in 1980. He retired after the 1982 season. He returned in 1997 with the St. Louis Rams, building an exciting Super Bowl winning team with the arrival of the legendary Kurt Warner. He retired again, but returned with the Chiefs in 2001 before retiring for good. I ended my career with a record of 120-109 in the regular season and 6-5 in the playoffs.


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here