Spain News

García and Johnson honored for sportsmanship and teamwork in the Ryder

Spaniard Sergio García and American Dustin Johnson were the first recipients of the Nicklaus-Jacklin Award, which recognizes sportsmanship, teamwork and results, at the end of the 43rd Ryder Cup, the competition biennial golf course between the United States and Europe, which was played this weekend on the shores of Lake Michigan.

The American team won the Ryder Cup against the European team with a final score of 19 to 9. Johnson and Garcia were chosen as representatives on each team of the spirit of the famous concession of 1969, when Jack Nicklaus conceded a half-meter (2-foot) putt to Tony Jacklin to tie a match that culminated in the first draw in Ryder Cup history.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please unblock the ad blocker.